The Civil War

Grade Range: 4-12
Resource Type(s): Reference Materials
Date Posted: 10/14/2008

From 1861-1865, Americans battled over preserving their Union and ending slavery.  The Civil War is the focus of this section of The Price of Freedom: Americans at War, an online exhibition. This pivotal and complicated period of American history is divided into sections that allow students to focus either on a specific aspect of the war, or the conflict as a whole. The sections included are: John Brown, Fort Sumter, the Battle of Bull Run, major turning points, the war at sea, Wilderness to Appomattox, political leaders, military leaders, soldiers in blue and gray; battles and casualties and Reconstruction and the legacies of the war. A non-flash version of this site is available: The Civil War.

National Standards

Historical Thinking Standards (Grades K-4)

Historical Thinking Standards (Grades 5-12)

Standards in History (Grades K-4)

United States History Standards (Grades 5-12)