Search History Explorer



History Explorer Results (25)
Related Books (13)
Results Per Page
Author:
Marcia Vaughan
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
A fictionalized account of an incident in the life of a seventeen-year-old girl who tends her family's lighthouse during a fierce storm on the coast of Maine in the winter of 1856.
Author:
Robin Ha
Reading Level:
High School,Middle School
Genre:
Biography
A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in
Author:
Jennifer Armstrong
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School
Genre:
Fiction
A fictionalized exchange of letters between a little girl and Thomas Jefferson accounts events of the 1800s.
Author:
Deborah Hopkinson
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School,Late Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
Considered the pioneer of the modern recipe, Fannie Farmer transformed countless kitchens into oases of exact measurements and perfect cooking. Hopkinson's fictionalized account is a humorous take on the real Fannie Farmer.
Author:
Carole Boston Weatherford
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School,Late Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
Connie, a fictional young girl, witnesses the student sit-ins at the lunchcounter in Greensboror, North Carolina. Her family is involved in NAACP voter registration, sit-ins, and picketing during the civil rights moevement.
Author:
Angela Johnson
Reading Level:
Pre-School,Early Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
Awards:

This powerfully illustrated picture book looks at legendary engineer Casey Jones through the eyes of a fictional black child who toils in a cotton field near the railroad tracks.
Author:
Vivien Owens
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School,High School,Adult
Genre:
Fiction
This fictional story tells of a young woman's encounter with American Civil Rights leader and educator Mary McLeod Bethune and its impact on her life.
Author:
Kathleen Karr
Reading Level:
Pre-School,Early Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
A humorous and poignant fictional story, this book is also an eye-opening view of the women's suffrage movement.
Author:
Alan Schroeder
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
Awards:

A fictionalized account of the life of heroic Harriet Tubman.
Author:
Shana Corey
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School,Late Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
This picture book tells a historical fiction story about the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League formed during World War II.
Results Per Page

Filter Resources By: