Search History Explorer



History Explorer Results (76)
Related Books (22)
Results Per Page
Author:
Robin Ha
Reading Level:
High School,Middle School
Genre:
Biography
A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in
Author:
Lewis L. Gould
Reading Level:
High School,Adult
Genre:
Non Fiction
A detailed biographical resource that presents personality traits, health issues, friends, habits, and quotations about the First Ladies, from Martha Washington to Hillary Clinton which details the impact these women have had on our American history.
Author:
Angela Joy
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
A child reflects on the meaning of being Black in this moving and powerful anthem about a people, a culture, a history, and a legacy that lives on.
Author:
Jacqueline Woodson
Reading Level:
Middle School
Genre:
Biography
Awards:

Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement. Touching and power
Author:
Joanna Ho
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
A young Asian girl notices that her eyes look different from her peers'. They have big, round eyes and long lashes. She realizes that her eyes are like her mother’s, her grandmother's, and her little sister's. They have eyes that kiss in the corners and glow like warm tea, crinkle into crescent mo
Author:
Betty Boyd Caroli
Reading Level:
High School,Adult
Genre:
Non Fiction
Take a look at each First Lady and her effect on the job of First Lady and examine the ways the role of First Lady has changed over the years.
Author:
Beatrice Gormley
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School
Genre:
Non Fiction
A collection of portraits of America's First Ladies recounts the lives and contributions of such figures as Bess Truman, Jacqueline Kennedy, and Eleanor Roosevelt, and is complemented by large-size photographs.
Author:
Edith P. Mayo
Reading Level:
Middle School,High School,Adult
Genre:
Non Fiction
Details of the Smithsonian exhibition featuring gowns and clothing, personal belongings, White House and campaign memorabilia which examines the duties and role of the presidential wife.
Author:
Carl Sferrazza Anthony
Reading Level:
High School,Adult
Genre:
Non Fiction
Author Carl S. Anthony likens the First Ladies to a select sorority in this splendid history that defines the political and social power inherent to the position of First Lady.
Author:
Amy Pastan
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School
Genre:
Non Fiction
A look at the First Ladies and biographies of those highlighted.
Results Per Page

Filter Resources By: