Search History Explorer



History Explorer Results (209)
Related Books (25)
Results Per Page
Author:
Harry Mazer
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School
Genre:
Fiction
A 14 year old boy witnesses the attack on Pearl Harbor and helps with the resuce efforts while searching for his father, who served on the U.S.S. Arizona
Author:
Amy Lee-Tai
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
Bilingual:
Yes
A child searches for hope and kindness to draw for her art class in the Topaz Internment Camp
Author:
Marcia Vaughan
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
A fictionalized account of an incident in the life of a seventeen-year-old girl who tends her family's lighthouse during a fierce storm on the coast of Maine in the winter of 1856.
Author:
Robin Ha
Reading Level:
High School,Middle School
Genre:
Biography
A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in
Author:
Jim Murphy
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School,High School,Adult
Genre:
Non Fiction
History, science, politics, and public health come together in this dramatic account of the disastrous yellow fever epidemic that hit the nation's capital more than 200 years ago. Drawing on firsthand accounts, medical and non-medical, Murphy re-creates the fear and panic in the infected city, th
Author:
Deborah Hopkinson
Reading Level:
Early Elementary School,Late Elementary School
Genre:
Fiction
Inspired by the stories of real 19th-century lighthouse heroines, this atmospheric book uses a diary format to shape a portrait of a brave and likable girl.
Author:
Jacqueline Woodson
Reading Level:
Middle School
Genre:
Biography
Awards:

Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement. Touching and power
Author:
Phillip M Hoose
Reading Level:
High School,Middle School
Genre:
Biography
Awards:

Presents the life of the Alabama teenager who played an integral role in the Montgomery bus strike, once by refusing to give up a bus seat, and again, by becoming a plaintiff in the landmark civil rights case against the bus company.
Author:
Nic Stone
Reading Level:
Middle School
Genre:
Fiction
How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma: Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED. Fasten Your Seatbelt: G'ma's never conventional, so this trip won't be either. Use the Green Book: G'ma's most treasured possession. It holds history, memories
Author:
Judy Goldberg (editor)
Reading Level:
Late Elementary School,Middle School
Genre:
Non Fiction
Culled from over 20,000 letters addressed to Chelsea Clinton, daughter of former President Bill Clinton. Questions are asked and answers given related to Chelsea's experiences while living in the White House.
Results Per Page

Filter Resources By: